Cycling and bicycle racing discussion forums.   View New Forum Topics
Today's Forum Topics

Set as homepage


Go Back   Cycling Forums > Tech Corner > Bike buying advice
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Welcome to CyclingForums.com

You are currently viewing our website as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You will have to register before you can post to this thread.

By joining our free online community you will have access to post new topics, communicate privately with other cyclingforums.com members (PM), respond to polls, upload photos and access other special features like product reviews and classifieds.


Has anyone used alibaba.com for buying bikes/parts from Asia?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05.-2008, 10:57 PM   #1
stevet59155
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Exclamation Has anyone used alibaba.com for buying bikes/parts from Asia?

Does anyone have any experience buying from Alibaba.com (or any direct sourcing from China)? (i.e. are the mfgrs legitimate, are the branded products "third shift" or bootlegs, has anyone been screwed altogether)??

thanks

steve
stevet59155 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05.-2008, 11:48 AM   #2
oldbobcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boulder County, Colorado
Posts: 505
Default Re: Has anyone used alibaba.com for buying bikes/parts from Asia?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevet59155
Does anyone have any experience buying from Alibaba.com

The thing to remember is that alibaba is just the online exchange for bringing international buyers and sellers together. You find your supplier, you do your due diligence and make your deal, and work out your shipping to port and to your door, and you pay duty, and you can leave feedback about how it all went through the forum. But alibaba is not like ebay. Also, these sellers want to deal in large lots. They'll build you a bike but you'd better order at least 20.

And the word is avoid all Indonesian firms claiming to sell cycling equipment. It seems that everyone who has tried to buy gear through Indonesia has been burned.
oldbobcat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05.-2008, 09:23 PM   #3
stevet59155
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Has anyone used alibaba.com for buying bikes/parts from Asia?

old bobcat - re: "doing due diligence on suppliers", is there somewhere on alibaba where suppliers are given feedback? thanks
stevet59155 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05.-2008, 11:32 PM   #4
oldbobcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boulder County, Colorado
Posts: 505
Default Re: Has anyone used alibaba.com for buying bikes/parts from Asia?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevet59155
old bobcat - re: "doing due diligence on suppliers", is there somewhere on alibaba where suppliers are given feedback? thanks

No, just forums where you can discuss business. As a member I've only scanned the forums and, from what I could tell, there is very little dissing of individual members.

Alibaba certifies members, which means they are have a legitimate business that passes a credit check, but that's the extent of it. You do your own homework.
oldbobcat is offline  
Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2006 cyclingforums.com

Links to websites we like:
Pezcyclingnews | Cyclingnews.com | Wine Zone | iinet