Cycling and bicycle racing discussion forums.   View New Forum Topics
Today's Forum Topics

Set as homepage


Go Back   Cycling Forums > General > The Bike Café
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Welcome to CyclingForums.com

You are currently viewing our website as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You will have to register before you can post to this thread.

By joining our free online community you will have access to post new topics, communicate privately with other cyclingforums.com members (PM), respond to polls, upload photos and access other special features like product reviews and classifieds.


anyone else get this popup?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22-03.-2008, 01:30 AM   #1
Cycler6n
Registered User
 
Cycler6n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 547
Default anyone else get this popup?

Every single time I come on to the forum, I get this go211 .com website popup, that sometimes freezes my comp, what is this site, and does anyone else get it?
__________________
“(Training) doesn't get easier; you just get faster”
-Greg Lemond
Cycler6n is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03.-2008, 01:48 AM   #2
dgregory57
Registered User
 
dgregory57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 634
Default Re: anyone else get this popup?

I don't get it.
__________________
dgregory57 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03.-2008, 01:55 AM   #3
TheDarkLord
Registered User
 
TheDarkLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The land where the shadows lie
Posts: 3,772
Default Re: anyone else get this popup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cycler6n
Every single time I come on to the forum, I get this go211 .com website popup, that sometimes freezes my comp, what is this site, and does anyone else get it?
Have never gotten any popups from this forum. Which web browser do you use?
TheDarkLord is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03.-2008, 07:04 AM   #4
kdelong
Registered User
 
kdelong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Western Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,566
Default Re: anyone else get this popup?

I never got the pop-up either, but I have three pop-up blockers that I know about and probably a dozen more that I don't know about. I never get pop-ups.
__________________
One life, one chance. Don't waste it!
kdelong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03.-2008, 08:27 AM   #5
Powerful Pete
Registered User
 
Powerful Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 3,619
Default Re: anyone else get this popup?

No pop-up blockers, no pop-ups on this site. Ever.
__________________
De Rosa Planet
Campagnolo Per Sempre!
PAOLO BETTINI CAMPIONE DEL MONDO x 2!
Powerful Pete is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03.-2008, 09:16 AM   #6
Cycler6n
Registered User
 
Cycler6n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 547
Default Re: anyone else get this popup?

yeah, i don't have a popup blocker, so thats probably the reason
__________________
“(Training) doesn't get easier; you just get faster”
-Greg Lemond
Cycler6n is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03.-2008, 10:37 AM   #7
cyberlegend1994
Registered User
 
cyberlegend1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Plymouth MA
Posts: 208
Default Re: anyone else get this popup?

Sounds like you might have spyware or an ad-bot on your system. I never get pop-ups from this site.
__________________
cyberlegend1994 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03.-2008, 12:20 PM   #8
TheDarkLord
Registered User
 
TheDarkLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The land where the shadows lie
Posts: 3,772
Default Re: anyone else get this popup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cycler6n
yeah, i don't have a popup blocker, so thats probably the reason
No, the point is that the site does not have pop-up ads. Most browsers have pop-up blocking capabilities, and indicate when they are blocking pop-ups. This site has never triggered the pop-up blocker. I would agree with cyberlegend - you have some spyware or malware on your computer that is causing this. A good way to test this would be to try navigating the site through another computer.
TheDarkLord is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03.-2008, 07:17 PM   #9
Powerful Pete
Registered User
 
Powerful Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 3,619
Default Re: anyone else get this popup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cycler6n
yeah, i don't have a popup blocker, so thats probably the reason
No, you did not get it. As DarkLord and Cyberlegend stated, there are no pop-ups on this site. I have no pop-up blocking software (with the exception of what Firefox does on its own) and have never had a problem on cyclingforums. Does sound like a spyware/malware problem on your machine.
__________________
De Rosa Planet
Campagnolo Per Sempre!
PAOLO BETTINI CAMPIONE DEL MONDO x 2!
Powerful Pete is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03.-2008, 07:21 PM   #10
alienator
Registered User
 
alienator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,488
Default Re: anyone else get this popup?

Go to the Ad Aware website and download the free version of Ad Aware. It's very good software for finding and removing spyware. Use it.
alienator is offline  
Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2006 cyclingforums.com

Links to websites we like:
Pezcyclingnews | Cyclingnews.com | Wine Zone | iinet