Cycling and bicycle racing discussion forums.   View New Forum Topics
Today's Forum Topics

Set as homepage


Go Back   Cycling Forums > Tech Corner > Cycling Equipment
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Welcome to CyclingForums.com

You are currently viewing our website as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You will have to register before you can post to this thread.

By joining our free online community you will have access to post new topics, communicate privately with other cyclingforums.com members (PM), respond to polls, upload photos and access other special features like product reviews and classifieds.


Fly-Sports Titanium Crank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16-07.-2003, 12:15 AM   #1
stevemay1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Angry Fly-Sports Titanium Crank

Anyone out there have any dealings with FLY-SPORTS. I am looking for anyone who has placed deposits with the company and never received any product.
stevemay1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08.-2003, 08:21 PM   #2
Marcel Frenk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2
Default Re: Fly-Sports Titanium Crank

Quote:
Originally posted by stevemay1
Anyone out there have any dealings with FLY-SPORTS. I am looking for anyone who has placed deposits with the company and never received any product.


Hello Steve,

I have not placed a deposit for a pair of Propellor Titanium Cranks. But as you, I was truly intrigued by Fly Sports claims about their cranks. What got me wondering was that al their claims (about their frames also) seemed somehow too good to be true.
So instead of bluntly placing an order (I live in the Netherlands) with this unknown foreign company (without an adress mentioned on their website, that always makes me wonder if I am not being scammed) I decided to wait and see what would become of Fly Sports. Surely the press would be eager to try these unbelievable products, I thougt, but I never read a press publication, let alone a review on their products. All I have ever seen of Fly Sports is an ad on MTBR.com. I guess that`s how you have found them too.
Now it seems that not much good is going on. Their site is still up, but no more mentioning of their cranks!
Two posibilities: a) they started with good ideas but as a company they never really took off, probably due to the lack of money, or b) they are a scam! A good scam I must say, I don`t see how you can photoshop a nonexisting item, so how could they produce such photo`s about their products?
Maybe mtbr.com can help you get more information about Fly Sports, they publisized their ad, so I guess they most have some kind of adress information.
Anyhow, I hope for you that you will somehow be able to get your deposit back, or receive your pair of cranks.

Greetings,
Marcel Frenk
Marcel Frenk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08.-2003, 10:14 PM   #3
freek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 18
Default Re: Fly-Sports Titanium Crank

About two months ago Hi-Tech bikes (www.hi-techbikes.com) had the Propellor cranks on offer on their site; I called them to inquire, and they said they did not at that time accept orders anymore, since nothing had been supplied sofar. They had seen the cranks at a bike trade show. A little later the cranks were taken off their site. Maybe if you call them they can tell you more about the Fly company, and how to get in touch with them.

Good luck!
freek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08.-2003, 01:16 AM   #4
stevemay1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Default Re: Re: Fly-Sports Titanium Crank

Right now it looks like a scam I have found searching the web posting going back almost 2 years saying soon they would ship. When I ordered they were supposed to be shipping in 1 month. That was in Oct2002 as of Jul03 nothing. I had to threaten to get any response from them. they did not want to refund my money and am having my Credit card company fight it out. Do not place an order with this company they do appear to be a fraud.








Quote:
Originally posted by Marcel Frenk
Hello Steve,

I have not placed a deposit for a pair of Propellor Titanium Cranks. But as you, I was truly intrigued by Fly Sports claims about their cranks. What got me wondering was that al their claims (about their frames also) seemed somehow too good to be true.
So instead of bluntly placing an order (I live in the Netherlands) with this unknown foreign company (without an adress mentioned on their website, that always makes me wonder if I am not being scammed) I decided to wait and see what would become of Fly Sports. Surely the press would be eager to try these unbelievable products, I thougt, but I never read a press publication, let alone a review on their products. All I have ever seen of Fly Sports is an ad on MTBR.com. I guess that`s how you have found them too.
Now it seems that not much good is going on. Their site is still up, but no more mentioning of their cranks!
Two posibilities: a) they started with good ideas but as a company they never really took off, probably due to the lack of money, or b) they are a scam! A good scam I must say, I don`t see how you can photoshop a nonexisting item, so how could they produce such photo`s about their products?
Maybe mtbr.com can help you get more information about Fly Sports, they publisized their ad, so I guess they most have some kind of adress information.
Anyhow, I hope for you that you will somehow be able to get your deposit back, or receive your pair of cranks.

Greetings,
Marcel Frenk
stevemay1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08.-2003, 01:20 AM   #5
stevemay1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Default Re: Re: Fly-Sports Titanium Crank

I had several conversation with Hi Tech. I would talk to them because I thoiught they stood a better chance at getting a reply from Fly-Sports. They actually had less luck then I did. Until someone actually see's the crank( they never showed up at Interbike last year) Do not place an order with them. They will screw you out of at least 300.00







Quote:
Originally posted by freek
About two months ago Hi-Tech bikes (www.hi-techbikes.com) had the Propellor cranks on offer on their site; I called them to inquire, and they said they did not at that time accept orders anymore, since nothing had been supplied sofar. They had seen the cranks at a bike trade show. A little later the cranks were taken off their site. Maybe if you call them they can tell you more about the Fly company, and how to get in touch with them.

Good luck!
stevemay1 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2006 cyclingforums.com

Links to websites we like:
Pezcyclingnews | Cyclingnews.com | Wine Zone | iinet