![]() |
View
New Forum Topics Today's Forum Topics Set as homepage |
|
|||||||
| |
||||
Welcome to CyclingForums.com You are currently viewing our website as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You will have to register before you can post to this thread. By joining our free online community you will have access to post new topics, communicate privately with other cyclingforums.com members (PM), respond to polls, upload photos and access other special features like product reviews and classifieds. |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Hi - We hope this is of interest.
We are a well respected Minibus company based in South Wales that offers luxury 16 seat Mercedes Sprinter Minibuses with drivers and trailers that carry up to 16 mountain bikes. Our web site is www.ggcarriages.co.uk . We have been looking at your web site and wondered if you knew of organisations that might be interested in this service. We can transport groups of up to 16 mountain bikers to the start of their ride and collect them from the finish location then return them home safely. We even have a fridge on board with cold drinks to quench the thirst of tired cyclists. We are keen to create awareness of this useful service. Would you be able to spread the word about our bike trailers? We hope to hear from you soon. All the Best Gareth Griffiths GG Carriages 01443 226060 www.ggcarriages.co.uk info@ggcarriages.co.uk Safe, Reliable and Friendly |
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
In article <1104366370.014085.148580@f14g2000cwb.googlegroups.com>,
gareth@ggcarriages.co.uk says... > Hi - We hope this is of interest. > > We are a well respected Minibus company based in South Wales that > offers luxury 16 seat Mercedes Sprinter Minibuses with drivers and > trailers that carry up to 16 mountain bikes. Our web site is > > > We have been looking at your web site Which website, spammer? -- Hywel http://kibo.org.uk/ I do not eat quiche. |
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 07:16:33 -0000, Hywel Jenkins
<hyweljenkins@hotmail.com> wrote: >In article <1104366370.014085.148580@f14g2000cwb.googlegroups.com>, >gareth@ggcarriages.co.uk says... >> Hi - We hope this is of interest. >> >> We are a well respected Minibus company based in South Wales that >> offers luxury 16 seat Mercedes Sprinter Minibuses with drivers and >> trailers that carry up to 16 mountain bikes. Our web site is >> >> >> We have been looking at your web site > >Which website, spammer? That's a bit harsh. OK, the header could have started AD: or somesuch, but this looks as though it could be a useful company to know about, given the lack of trains and other public transport in the area. One to store away for the future, I think. |
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
"Hywel Jenkins" <hyweljenkins@hotmail.com> wrote in message news:MPG.1c3dbbabc426835989702@news.individual.net... > In article <1104366370.014085.148580@f14g2000cwb.googlegroups.com>, > gareth@ggcarriages.co.uk says... >> Hi - We hope this is of interest. >> >> We are a well respected Minibus company based in South Wales that >> offers luxury 16 seat Mercedes Sprinter Minibuses with drivers and >> trailers that carry up to 16 mountain bikes. Our web site is >> >> >> We have been looking at your web site > > Which website, spammer? > Dont some people post from one of those web forums that leech off usenet? Maybe its one of those. -- Tumbleweed email replies not necessary but to contact use; tumbleweednews at hotmail dot com |
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Big G wrote:
> Hi - We hope this is of interest. > > We are a well respected Minibus company based in South Wales that > offers luxury 16 seat Mercedes Sprinter Minibuses with drivers and > trailers that carry up to 16 mountain bikes. Our web site is > www.ggcarriages.co.uk . > I see someone's already taken umbrage because of the commercial nature of the post. Can't agree, I'm afraid; the post on topic and interesting. Bike trailer services such as this are incredibly rare and very useful. It's refreshing to see cycling services/facilities being provided by a commercial operation rather than by some local government official's idea of what cyclists' want. |
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Not Responding wrote:
> Big G wrote: > >> Hi - We hope this is of interest. >> >> We are a well respected Minibus company based in South Wales that >> offers luxury 16 seat Mercedes Sprinter Minibuses with drivers and >> trailers that carry up to 16 mountain bikes. Our web site is >> www.ggcarriages.co.uk . >> > > I see someone's already taken umbrage because of the commercial nature > of the post. Can't agree, I'm afraid; the post on topic and interesting. > > Bike trailer services such as this are incredibly rare and very useful. > It's refreshing to see cycling services/facilities being provided by a > commercial operation rather than by some local government official's > idea of what cyclists' want. The nature of the message pisses me off not the service these guys are selling. It would take them>5 minutes to write a proper message directed at u.r.c. |
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
In article <33hvdfF4137auU1@individual.net>,
thisaccountneverread@yahoo.com says... > > "Hywel Jenkins" <hyweljenkins@hotmail.com> wrote in message > news:MPG.1c3dbbabc426835989702@news.individual.net... > > In article <1104366370.014085.148580@f14g2000cwb.googlegroups.com>, > > gareth@ggcarriages.co.uk says... > >> Hi - We hope this is of interest. > >> > >> We are a well respected Minibus company based in South Wales that > >> offers luxury 16 seat Mercedes Sprinter Minibuses with drivers and > >> trailers that carry up to 16 mountain bikes. Our web site is > >> > >> > >> We have been looking at your web site > > > > Which website, spammer? > > > > Dont some people post from one of those web forums that leech off usenet? > Maybe its one of those. I thought about that, but there was no indication in the message that that was the case, though the OP did post through Google Groups. -- Hywel http://kibo.org.uk/ I do not eat quiche. |
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
MSeries wrote:
> The nature of the message pisses me off not the service these guys are > selling. It would take them>5 minutes to write a proper message directed > at u.r.c. Indeed. The reference to looking at our website, suggests that this is a form letter than has been posted here by way of advertising. The usefulness of the service is not in question, but the bad advertising is. A quick proof-read and correction would have taken no more than five minutes. Jon |
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
In article <33i1beF3vsj6dU1@individual.net>,
MSeries <skankmartin@hotmail.com> writes: > The nature of the message pisses me off not the service these guys are > selling. It would take them>5 minutes to write a proper message directed > at u.r.c. Exactly. That's the difference between an advertiser (cares at least a little about his readers) and a spammer (doesn't). Oh, and it's looking like a hit-and-run, too. Another spammer trait. Even Campervan Thornbury does us the dubious courtesy of reading replies to his wretched ads. -- Nick Kew |
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
in message <MPG.1c3dbbabc426835989702@news.individual.net>, Hywel
Jenkins ('hyweljenkins@hotmail.com') wrote: > In article <1104366370.014085.148580@f14g2000cwb.googlegroups.com>, > gareth@ggcarriages.co.uk says... >> Hi - We hope this is of interest. >> >> We are a well respected Minibus company based in South Wales that >> offers luxury 16 seat Mercedes Sprinter Minibuses with drivers and >> trailers that carry up to 16 mountain bikes. Our web site is >> >> >> We have been looking at your web site > > Which website, spammer? I draw your attention to the charter for the newsgroup <URL:news:uk.rec.cycling>, which is here: <URL:http://www.usenet.org.uk/uk.rec.cycling.html#uk.rec.cycling> To be precise, we don't have one. Consequently, there is no rule whatsoever about advertising on this newsgroup. If we were to have a charter[1] similar to that for (e.g) <URL:news:uk.rec.sailing>, what it would say about advertising would be: Advertising Short announcements (less than 50 lines) of events relevant to readership. For Sale or Want-To-Buy announcements from non-commercial posters welcomed; blatant off-topic or commercial advertising not required. Under that clause you _could_ claim that this post was off-topic in the group, since it is blatant commercial advertising (although otherwise on-topic); however, as I've pointed out, that rule does not apply here. However, even so, it would not be spam, because it's Breidbart index appears to be 1, and an article only qualifies as spam if its Breidbart index exceeds 20. To call someone s spammer when they clearly are not is extremely offensive, in my opinion. [1] and it would probably be a good idea if we did adopt a charter, for precisely this sort of reason. -- simon@jasmine.org.uk (Simon Brooke) http://www.jasmine.org.uk/~simon/ ;; It appears that /dev/null is a conforming XSL processor. |
|