![]() |
View
New Forum Topics Today's Forum Topics Set as homepage |
|
|||||||
| |
||||
Welcome to CyclingForums.com You are currently viewing our website as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You will have to register before you can post to this thread. By joining our free online community you will have access to post new topics, communicate privately with other cyclingforums.com members (PM), respond to polls, upload photos and access other special features like product reviews and classifieds. |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
There is a Marin Mount Vision on eBay - Item number: 4061795739
The description gives London as the location yet the price is in dollars. I sent an email asking for clarification but have not recieved a reply; except for mail delivery failed message from osborneandcollins.co.uk there is nothing remotely uk like in my inbox. They appear to be electrical engineers. I don't like to open links in unknown emails. So, can anyone shed any light on the seller of the Marin Bikes? Or what osborneandcollins have got to do with anything - bearing in mind they might be being used by spammers? John |
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
"Eatmorepies" <stopthere@lineone.net> wrote in message news:32oraoF3mimhfU1@individual.net... > There is a Marin Mount Vision on eBay - Item number: 4061795739 > > The description gives London as the location yet the price is in dollars. > > I sent an email asking for clarification but have not recieved a reply; > except for mail delivery failed message from osborneandcollins.co.uk there > is nothing remotely uk like in my inbox. They appear to be electrical > engineers. > > I don't like to open links in unknown emails. So, can anyone shed any light > on the seller of the Marin Bikes? Or what osborneandcollins have got to do > with anything - bearing in mind they might be being used by spammers? > > John > > Saw this item too and am a little cautious about it. Dont like conditions like WE RESERVE THE RIGHT TO CANCEL ANY BID MADE WITHOUT A PRIOR CONTACT. A lot of indicators that this mike may be in the USA. The spelling of Tires rather than tyres and the tyres fitted dont seem to be standard spec here, neither do the brake levers. If is in the USA whats the problem? Why isnt the vendor up front about it? Note the seller has a feedback score of 0. Gerald |
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
"Eatmorepies" <stopthere@lineone.net> wrote in message
news:32oraoF3mimhfU1@individual.net... > There is a Marin Mount Vision on eBay - Item number: 4061795739 > > The description gives London as the location yet the price is in dollars. Zero feedback for the seller - run away screaming. "PLEASE DO NOT BID ON THE AUCTION. WE WILL SELL THE BIKE (STOCK LIMIT) TO THE FIRST PERSON WHO WILL PAY THE BUY IT NOW PRICE." - run away screaming. Lots of auctions suddenly appearing for expensive new bikes, all under price - run away screaming. cheers, clive |
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
On Mon, 20 Dec 2004 20:34:30 +0000, Eatmorepies wrote:
> There is a Marin Mount Vision on eBay - Item number: 4061795739 It's a scam, as are many bikes on ebay at the moment. Report it to ebay, and it'll be gone in a couple of days, but no doubt the scammer will re-register and try it again. Alan. -- To reply by e-mail, change the ' + ' to 'plus'. http://www.dvatc.co.uk - Off-road cycling in the North Midlands. |
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
In article <41c74594$0$29744$ed2e19e4@ptn-nntp-reader04.plus.net>,
alan@darkroom.+.com says... > It's a scam, as are many bikes on ebay at the moment. > Report it to ebay, and it'll be gone in a couple of days, but no doubt the > scammer will re-register and try it again. > Alan. > Yes, jut do a search on "Litespeed"! -- Mark (MSA) ______________________________________________ Remember, half the people you know are below average |
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
On Tue, 21 Dec 2004 10:19:49 +1100, dannyfrankszzz
<dannyfrankszzz.1hl66y@no-mx.forums.cyclingforums.com> wrote: >The "0 feedback" is a definite warning sign. It's not even the biggest warning sign on that particular listing, there are plenty of them. There's no doubt at all, that auction is a scam. -- Call me "Bob" "More oneness, less categories, Open hearts, no strategies" Email address is spam trapped, to reply directly remove the beverage. |
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
in message <32oraoF3mimhfU1@individual.net>, Eatmorepies
('stopthere@lineone.net') wrote: > There is a Marin Mount Vision on eBay - Item number: 4061795739 > > The description gives London as the location yet the price is in > dollars. It was fraud and has been removed. > I don't like to open links in unknown emails. So, can anyone shed any > light on the seller of the Marin Bikes? Or what osborneandcollins have > got to do with anything - bearing in mind they might be being used by > spammers? They're more likely the innocent victims than the villains themselves. -- simon@jasmine.org.uk (Simon Brooke) http://www.jasmine.org.uk/~simon/ ...but have you *seen* the size of the world wide spider? |
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
"dannyfrankszzz" <dannyfrankszzz.1hl66y@no-mx.forums.cyclingforums.com>
wrote: > The "0 feedback" is a definite warning sign. Not necessarily - everyone has to start somewhere. Selling in dollars from a UK location isn't necessarily anything to be alarmed about either. It's not uncommon, especially when the target market is foreign. These factors only become worrying in combination with the private bidder list, the request to deal off eBay, the silly price, the language used, and all the other similar auctions. James Thomson |
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
"Eatmorepies" <stopthere@lineone.net> wrote in message news:32oraoF3mimhfU1@individual.net... > There is a Marin Mount Vision on eBay - Item number: 4061795739 > > The description gives London as the location yet the price is in dollars. > > I sent an email asking for clarification but have not recieved a reply; > except for mail delivery failed message from osborneandcollins.co.uk there > is nothing remotely uk like in my inbox. They appear to be electrical > engineers. > > I don't like to open links in unknown emails. So, can anyone shed any > light > on the seller of the Marin Bikes? Or what osborneandcollins have got to do > with anything - bearing in mind they might be being used by spammers? > The ebay question seems to have been answerer - the mail delivery failed is a virus - if you're running anti virus the worm should have been stripped out. Details here http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/...s.aspx?id=38727 Russ |
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
On Mon, 20 Dec 2004 21:00:34 -0000, "Clive George"
<clive@xxxx-x.fsnet.co.uk> wrote: >Zero feedback for the seller - run away screaming. Hi Clive I don't use eBay but wouldn't first-time sellers automatically have a zero rating? James |
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
"James Hodson" <jUNDERSCOREhodson@ntlworld.com.invalid> wrote in message
news:77pis0tbdlb48301eg879hr3d1e3d0n406@4ax.com... > On Mon, 20 Dec 2004 21:00:34 -0000, "Clive George" > <clive@xxxx-x.fsnet.co.uk> wrote: > > >Zero feedback for the seller - run away screaming. > > Hi Clive > > I don't use eBay but wouldn't first-time sellers automatically have a > zero rating? Yup. However they could get some feedback by buying stuff first, or selling cheap stuff. Alternatively you could make sure the transaction is such that you can't be stiffed - eg payment after delivery. cheers, clive |
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
On Wed, 22 Dec 2004 12:14:54 GMT, James Hodson
<jUNDERSCOREhodson@ntlworld.com.invalid> wrote: >I don't use eBay but wouldn't first-time sellers automatically have a >zero rating? First time sellers have to start somewhere. But they don't have to start with _my_ money. |
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Clive George wrote:
> > > Yup. However they could get some feedback by buying stuff first, or selling > cheap stuff. > Alternatively you could make sure the transaction is such that you can't be > stiffed - eg payment after delivery. > Yes, feedback alone is not a good indicator. I have seen a few where the 100% feedback ratings can all be traced back to the seller. Tony |
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
James Hodson wrote:
> I don't use eBay but wouldn't first-time sellers automatically > have a zero rating? Yes, unless they'd bought some stuff. Selling and buying feedback are combined. With a zero-feedback seller you need to exercise a little more caution. A while back I spotted a rare book on eBay that I was interested in. I used Abebooks to check dealer prices for that edition. I found one, a well-established book shop, that had an almost identical description of the book. I e-mailed the dealer to bring the auction to his attention, and he replied that he was in fact also the eBay seller. He'd been using Abe for ages but had only just decided to give eBay a try. -- Dave... |
|
|
|
#15 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
On 22 Dec 2004 09:29:22 -0800, I wrote:
>Yes, unless they'd bought some stuff. Selling and buying feedback are >combined. With a zero-feedback seller you need to exercise a little >more caution. A while back I spotted a rare book on eBay that I was >interested in. I used Abebooks to check dealer prices for that edition. Hmm... That might have made more sense if I'd mentioned that my suspicions had been aroused because the seller had zero-feedback and was giving a very dealer-like description. -- Dave... Get a bicycle. You will not regret it. If you live. - Mark Twain |
|