BEWARE of this bicycle store scam (Nigerian type)










PDA

About Cycling Forums
BEWARE of this bicycle store scam (Nigerian type)
Since 2001, over 90,000 cyclist's have joined Cycling Forums to discuss topics from general cycling to equipment, training, racing and travel or vacation destinations (especially in europe during the tour de france). We also feature an great deals in our online store, 100's of articles, classifieds and product reviews.

View Full Version : BEWARE of this bicycle store scam (Nigerian type)



The content of the BEWARE of this bicycle store scam (Nigerian type) article is:

niceguymr
BEWARE of this bicycle store scam (Nigerian type)
This business a complete scam. The prices are unbelievable, but if you try to order, you'll soon figure out what a scam it is.

www.maxbicycle.com (http://www.maxbicycle.com)

I have to admit, this seems very legit on the surface until you try to do business with them.

The Maxbicycle website has all these great prices on bikes well below normal prices. You cannot order throught their website using any secure ordering system. You must email them, and then they send you ordering instructions. If you call the number on the website, you get a robotic answering service (I tried several times today and even left a message with no responses). If you email them though, they respond rather quickly. So far, this is what has happened. I emailed them as follows:

I am interested in the Specialized Stumpjumper FSR
> Expert Disc 120 for $1500 with Free shipping, and
> would like to know how to purchase it from you. I
> can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. My name is XXXXX.
> Unless you call me, I wont be able to respond to
> emails until Friday at the earliest. I can provide
> payment immediately. Please call me right away for
> immediate transaction.


To which they responded...

Dear customer,

Thank you for your interest in our bikes. THIS IS A
STOCK LIMIT OFFER!!! We give this discount because we
are liquidating the 2005 stock.

We have all sizes and colors available on stock right
now in this model.

The buy it now price for the complete bike is US$1500
. In this price all shipment costs are included too.

We want a safe transaction to be made and we prefer to
use a Third Party Company (escrow company) to handle
this transaction and both to be protected from fraud.
We will support all the fees for a fast transaction.

If you decide to buy it now, please email us
imediately and we will give you more details.

You can check our website at www.maxbicycle.com


We look forward for your reply,

Thomas Bowler,
Sales Dep.,
Max Bicycle ltd,
address: 915 Washington St., Helena, MT, 59601, USA
toll free number: 866-837-0608
website: www.maxbicycle.com
email: maxbicyclestore@yahoo.com


To which I responded...

Yes, I want to buy this now (NEW 2005 SPECIALIZED STUMPJUMPER FSR EXPERT DISC 120 in size LARGE 19") What color is it available in? Does it come with FULL WARRANTY? Please tell me what to do to complete this transaction.

Thank you,
XXXXX

To which they responded...

Dear customer,

We have it available. It comes with full warranty.

We would like to make a fast and secure transaction.

We have used escrow.com in past but we received
payments after 3 weeks after our customers told them
to send us payments. We will not use this company
anymore.

We have found a very good company who can handle
shipping too and that works as a Third Party Company.
We work with them for 5 months and we are satisfied
with them.

The company is BST Express Shipping and their web site
is www.bstexpressshipping.com. Please take a look and
make a decision (Read the HOW IT WORKS section). We
accept to support their fees.

It will take 7 days the bike to arrive at your door.



We look forward for your reply,

Thomas Bowler,
Sales Dep.,
Max Bicycle ltd,
address: 915 Washington St., Helena, MT, 59601, USA
toll free number: 866-837-0608
website: www.maxbicycle.com
email: maxbicyclestore@yahoo.com

To which I responded...

Thomas,
I have read and registered with bstexpressshipping.com. I am ready to complete the transaction, however I am concerned that I cannot locate your business in any telephone directory and have been unable to reach anyone by telephone. Before I agree to send $1500 to anyone, I would like to speak to someone directly to verify the validity of your business. Please let me know who or where to call to verify this information.

Thank you,
XXXX

As of now, I have not heard back from them. They have responded within minutes to all my previous emails except for the last one. It's been almost a half an hour. I'm not being impatient, but this deal is starting to smell very fishy.

ETA: I have done a thorough search for both business entities involved and have turned up nothing. There is nothing listed at the address in Helena Montana either. The "squaretrade" logos on the website are 'unclickable'. MAX Bicycle is not listed as a dealer on the Specialized Bicycle Company website. That part doesn't concern me the most though... I'm aware there are many unauthorized dealers of many things across the country. Sometimes, that's how you can get a really good deal, but this is very sketchy.





cyclingforums.com | home | WWF | Wine
Website and eCommerce Solutions